Home > Culture > Portrait of a Nation > Natuashish footsteps icon

Natuashish

On Labrador’s Atlantic coast, 300 km north of the town of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Natuashish is accessible only by plane or boat. The village of Natuashish, founded in 2002, is thus the most recent of all Innu communities It is located about 15 km from the ancient site of Utshimassit (Davis Inlet), abandoned at the beginning of the 2000s because of its unfavourable location on an island. The new community, whose name means “little lake”, allows much easier access to inland ancestral hunting and fishing grounds.

DEMOGRAPHY
Number of persons within the community: 809
Number of persons outside the community: 1901
Total: 2710

Localisation: 295 Km North of Goose Gay and 80 km Southeast of Nain

On December 11, 2003 the new community of Natuashish was set apart as reserve land for the Mushuau Innu First Nations.
The community of Natuashish was constructed from previously undeveloped land as a part of the Mushuau Innu Relocation Agreement (MIRA). The Mushuau Innu from Davis Inlet have now relocated to Natuashish. Reserve creation at Natuashish, along with the relocation of the Mushuau Innu, is part of a long-term strategy, to address the social challenges of the community.
The Mushuau Innu chose the Natuashish site, which is within their traditional territory, with the agreement of Canada and the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador in 1996. There are no neighbouring municipalities. The nearest communities are Davis Inlet, which will be decommissioned as part of the Mushuau Innu Relocation Agreement, and the coastal community of Hopedale. The area at Natuashish set apart as reserve land is approximately 4265.486 hectares, which includes a water lot for the wharf site of approximately 1.582 hectares and a water lot for the barge site of approximately 0.252 hectares.
The Federal Crown holds legal title to reserve lands. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada administers, controls and manages reserve land for the First Nation on behalf of the Crown. The Mushuau Innu First Nation may assume responsibility for managing certain aspects of the reserve land in the future, should they choose to do so.
Within the reserve, the First Nation may choose to designate land for leasing purposes. Leasing reserve land is usually used for economic development ventures for band or non-band members. Designation for leasing offers the First Nation increased flexibility to change or adapt the use of land according to the community's needs, maintains long-term interest in the land, and provides the Band with income in the form of rent based on fair market value. Designations must be assented to by band members through a referendum.
Within Natuashish, certain lands are to be set aside by the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, with the consent of the Mushuau Innu First Nation Band Council, for specific, non-commercial purposes that improve the general welfare of the First Nation. An example would be the land set aside for the school and the nursing station.
In the future, if the Mushuau Innu First Nation wants to give up complete interest in a piece of land it would be an absolute surrender to the Crown. This type of surrender might occur if the First Nation wants to trade one piece of land for another. Land that has been absolutely surrendered is no longer part of the reserve.
With reserve creation, the Indian Act gives the Council the authority to pass by-laws for a variety of purposes, as outlined in the Indian Act. This includes the observance of law and order, zoning, property taxation on-reserve, health hazards, road construction and maintenance.
Council can determine who can live on a reserve, however, no by-law can infringe on an individual's rights under the Indian Act. With the consent of a majority of electors of the First Nation, Council can also enact a by-law banning the possession, use and sale of intoxicants on-reserve. Copies of all by-laws must be shared with the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development before they come into effect.
By-laws enacted by Council do not apply outside the geographic boundaries of the reserve. However, many provincial laws do apply to the reserve. This includes laws regarding child welfare, family law, contracts, corporations, and the regulation of professions and trades. Generally, if the province has the constitutional authority to pass the law, and it applies the law to all residents of that province, the law will apply on reserve.

Statistics Canada (2006 Census)

Community of Utshimassit

5:12 min. - "They call us "mushuaunnu" because we lived on barren ground. The missionaries, who were determined to keep adults and children in one place, insisted on settling us here [village of Utshimassit]. This village no longer exists today. A new one, Natuashish, was built on the mainland." Nympha Byrne, Utshimassit Innu.

Transcription

Nympha Byrne - I don't know whether we're Mushuannu or Naskapi. But they call us mushuaunnu because we used to live on barren land. Before the missionaries insisted on settling us here, they wanted the children and adults to be in the same place. We lived on the land in harmony with the animals we needed to survive. They were Catholic priests. Our people arrived on the land in the spring, and they're happy there. It's better than here. I'm looking forward to when the community moves, it'll be better for our youth. We'll no longer have to wait for the ice in order to leave the island and go into the bush, we'll be able to cover greater distances and the young people will be happier. We lived in the bush where we hunted, fished and gathered. Everything else, flour, sugar, and the rest, we bought from Whites to whom we sometimes sold our furs. Hairy money! The missionaries said that if we brought our children into the bush, the government would cut our family allowance cheques. They also told us the family allowance would be cut if the children didn't go to school. I'd like it if the young people would visit the elders, listen to them and learn from them. That way, they wouldn't lose their culture.
Music - Philippe Mckenzie

Panoramic view of the community of Utshimassit, in Labrador
You need the Adobe Flash Player to view the above movie. Adobe Flash Player can be downloaded from Adobe.

Be the first to comment!


(*) Field mandatory





or



Top of page

Natuashish

Située sur la côte atlantique du Labrador, à 300 kilomètres au nord du village de Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Natuashish n’est accessible que par avion ou par bateau. Le village de Natuashish, fondé en 2002, est ainsi le plus récent de toutes les communautés innues. Il se situe à une quinzaine de kilomètres de l’ancien site de Utshimassit (Davis Inlet), abandonné au début des années 2000 en raison de sa situation désavantageuse sur une île. La nouvelle communauté, dont le nom signifie « petit lac », permet un accès beaucoup plus simple aux territoires ancestraux de chasse et de pêche de l’arrière-pays.

DÉMOGRAPHIE
Nombre de personnes dans la communauté : 809
Nombre de personnes en dehors de la communauté : 1 901
Total : 2 710

Localisation : 295 km au nord de Goose Bay et 80 km au sud-est de Nain

Le 11 décembre 2003, la nouvelle collectivité de Natuashish a été constituée en réserve pour la Première nation des Innus Mushuau.
La localité de Natuashish a été construite dans un territoire vierge dans le cadre de l'Entente de réinstallation des Innus Mushuau (ERIM). Les Innus Mushuau de Davis Inlet se sont maintenant réinstallés à Natuashish. La création d'une réserve à cet endroit et la réinstallation des Innus Mushuau font partie d'une stratégie à long terme visant à remédier aux problèmes sociaux de la collectivité.
En 1996, avec l'accord du Canada et de la province de Terre-Neuve et Labrador, les Innus Mushuau ont choisi Natuashish, qui se situe dans leur territoire ancestral. Il n'y a aucune autre municipalité dans les environs. Les localités les plus proches sont celles de Davis Inlet, qui sera désaffectée aux termes de l'Entente de réinstallation des Innus Mushuau, et le village côtier de Hopedale. La région de Natuashish, constituée en réserve, a une superficie d'environ 4 265 486 hectares, ce qui comprend un lot de grève pour le quai d'à peu près 1 582 hectare et un lot de grève d'eau pour les barges d'environ 0,252 hectare.
La Couronne fédérale détient les titres de propriété officiels relatifs aux réserves. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada administre, contrôle et gère les réserves des Premières nations au nom de la Couronne. Il se pourrait qu'à l'avenir, la Première nation des Innus Mushuau se charge de gérer la réserve à certains égards, si elle choisit de le faire.
Dans la réserve, la Première nation pourrait désigner certaines terres à des fins de location. D'habitude, les terres sont louées à des membres de la bande ou à d'autres personnes qui veulent réaliser des projets de développement économique. La désignation de terres à cette fin procure à la Première nation plus de souplesse pour modifier ou adapter l'utilisation du territoire en fonction des besoins de la collectivité; cela protège ses intérêts à long terme et lui fournit un revenu sous la forme d'un loyer établi d'après les prix équitables du marché. Les membres de la bande doivent consentir à la désignation par voie de référendum.
À Natuashish, des terres doivent être mises de côté par le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, avec le consentement du Conseil de bande de la Première nation des Innus Mushuau, pour des projets non commerciaux particuliers qui amélioreront le bien-être général de la population. Ainsi, un terrain sera réservé à la construction de l'école et de l'infirmerie.
Dans l'avenir, si la Première nation des Innus Mushuau décidait de renoncer entièrement à un terrain, il s'agirait d'une cession absolue en faveur de la Couronne. Cela pourrait se produire si la Première nation décidait d'échanger un terrain contre un autre. Tout terrain cédé de cette façon ne fait plus partie de la réserve.
En ce qui concerne la création des réserves, la Loi sur les Indiens donne au Conseil le pouvoir d'adopter des règlements à diverses fins, elles-mêmes décrites dans la Loi. Mentionnons l'observation de la loi et le maintien de l'ordre, le zonage, l'imposition foncière dans la réserve, les dangers pour la santé, la construction et l'entretien des routes.
Le Conseil peut décider qui peut vivre dans la réserve. Toutefois, aucun règlement ne peut empiéter sur les droits de la personne garantis par la Loi sur les Indiens. Avec le consentement d'une majorité d'électeurs de la Première nation, le Conseil peut aussi prendre un règlement interdisant la possession, l'utilisation et la vente de stupéfiants dans la réserve. Avant qu'un règlement puisse entrer en vigueur, le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien doit en avoir reçu un exemplaire.
Les règlements adoptés par le Conseil ne peuvent s'appliquer en dehors des limites géographiques de la réserve. Cependant, de nombreuses lois provinciales s'appliquent dans la réserve, dont celles qui portent sur le bien-être des enfants, le droit familial et les contrats, les sociétés par actions et la réglementation des métiers et des professions. En général, si la province a le pouvoir constitutionnel d'adopter une loi et qu'elle l'applique à tous ses habitants, la loi en question s'appliquera dans la réserve.

Statistiques Canada (Recensement de 2006)

La Communauté de Utshimassit

5:12 min. - « On nous appelle « mushuaunnu » parce qu’on avait l’habitude de vivre sur des terres dénudées. Ce sont les missionnaires qui, tenant à ce que les adultes et les enfants soient au même endroit, ont insisté pour nous installer ici [village d’Utshimassit]. Aujourd’hui, ce village n’existe plus. Un nouveau a été construit sur la terre ferme « Natuashish ». » Nympha Byrne, Innue de Utshimassit

Transcription

Nympha Byrne - J'ignore si nous sommes « Mushuannus » ou Naskapis. Mais on nous appelle mushuaunnu parce qu'on avait l'habitude de vivre sur des terres dénudées. Avant que les missionnaires insistent pour nous installer ici, ils voulaient que les enfants et les adultes soient au même endroit. Nous vivions à l'intérieur des terres en harmonie avec les animaux nécessaires à notre survie. C'étaient des prêtres catholiques. Nos gens prennent le bois au printemps et y sont bien. C'est mieux qu'ici. J'ai bien hâte que la communauté déménage, ce sera mieux pour nos jeunes. On ne sera plus obligés d'attendre les glaces pour quitter l'île et aller en forêt, on pourra couvrir de plus grandes distances et les jeunes seront plus heureux. Nous habitions la forêt où nous chassions, pêchions et cueillions. Le reste: farine, sucre et autres, nous l'achetions des Blancs à qui nous vendions parfois nos fourrures. De l'argent poilu! Les missionnaires prétendaient que si nous amenions nos enfants en forêt, le gouvernement nous couperait nos allocations familiales. On nous disait également que les allocations familiales seraient coupées si les enfants n'allaient pas à l'école. J'aimerais que les jeunes aillent voir les vieux, les écoutent et apprennent d'eux. Ainsi, ils ne perdraient pas leur culture.
Musique - Philippe Mckenzie

Image panoramique de la communauté d'Utshimassit, au Labrador
Vous avez besoin du lecteur Abode Flash Player pour visionner la vidéo ci-dessus. Vous pouvez l'obtenir via le site d'Adobe.

Soyez le premier à commenter!


(*) Champs obligatoire





ou



Haut de page